Press "Enter" to skip to content

Aaron Rodgers could only name 4 Bears QBs since he’s been Packers starter

The Chicago Bears might be known for their running backs and linebackers. But one thing they’re also known for is a dismal quarterback history.

Keeping things in perspective with Sunday’s matchup against the Packers, the Bears have had 16 different quarterbacks — seven starters — since Aaron Rodgers took over as Green Bay’s starter in 2008, another grim reminder of Chicago’s poor quarterback history.

While Bears fans would be able to recount many of those 16 quarterbacks, would Rodgers be able to?

“Counting playoffs? Yeah, I could come close probably,” Rodgers said. “Jay Cutler. Kyle Orton. Rex Grossman. Mitch [Trubisky]…”

But that was it.

That’s right, Rodgers could only name four. If that’s not an indictment on the Bears franchise, then I don’t know what is.

“I’m giving up, I got a meeting to go to,” Rodgers said. “Can’t wrack the memory banks.”

But Rodgers is missing a pretty important one — rookie Justin Fields, who has become the Bears’ eighth different starting quarterback since Rodgers has been starter in Green Bay.

The hope is Fields will be the last for a long time.

For the last decade-plus, this division and rivalry has been defined by Rodgers’ success. With Rodgers potentially playing in his final season in Green Bay, Bears fans are hoping Fields can assume his mantle and cement Chicago among the top of the NFC North for years to come.

But let’s not get too ahead of ourselves. Let’s start with Sunday’s game, where the Bears can take hold of first place in the division with a win over the Packers.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *