Press "Enter" to skip to content

Destiny 2 Trials of Osiris: Hakke Casino Explained

Some Destiny 2 players may not have participated in a PVP game mode known as Trials of Osiris, which has been around for a long time and is arguably one of the most reworked activities in the game to date. This weekend, the Crucible saw the return of Trials of Osiris after yet another careful rework on Bungie’s part, with the company not only changing the whole reward system for the mode but also how players can cope with losses. This was a big change, as one of the alluring aspects of Trials is that players can visit an exclusive zone called The Lighthouse, which is only available to those who get seven wins out of seven – or out of eight, starting this week.

This is called a Flawless run, and it is not an easy achievement to unlock for all those players who are not masters of the Crucible. Because Destiny 2‘s loot system for Trials incentivized Flawless runs so that players could get good weapons and gear, the community exploited a change made in Season of the Chosen. This consisted of players being able to freely switch between characters, and it was the main ingredient for what was later revealed as a convoluted system called The Hakke Casino.

How Destiny 2’s Hakke Casino Worked

The ability to change characters was so important because players could have one with a burner card, and one with the Flawless card. The second part to this community-based method, which didn’t require third-party programs nor to pay for anything, was allegedly first used by Chinese players. It consisted of having a pre-made Fireteam where emblems would signal their intent to the enemy team. Emblems are part of the cosmetic items in Destiny 2, and there are some that are more commonly found than others – or even added to new players’ accounts when first starting.

As such, the Hakke emblem was used for this purpose, with the team comprising two players employing the Hakke emblem, and the third using any other common emblem. If the enemy team used the same composition, then the players with the non-Hakke emblem would add each other on Steam, and use one of Steam’s basic chat commands called “/random 1-10.” The gist of it is that the team who got the highest number would win the match due to the opposing team retiring, but since everyone was playing on the burner card, the “winning” team needed to switch characters to the Flawless card.

Then, both teams would go back to the burner characters and start the queuing process again, meaning they would leave any match coming up against players without the Hakke emblems, and contact one another in the opposite scenario. The system was aptly dubbed “Hakke Casino” because of the random nature of what determined the victorious team, and albeit not largely widespread, it still caused some significant data to be gathered at Bungie. During the weekend between the end of February and March 1, in Season of the Chosen, the company disabled Trials of Osiris due to around 50% of the players going Flawless that weekend having 0 kills, showing the impact of Destiny 2‘s win trading system.

Fortunately, this method is no more because of three main factors. For starters, Bungie partnered with BattleEye, which prevents most of the cheating and hacking that players would resort to so they could go Flawless. The second factor is that Bungie also made wins obtained by the enemy team leaving not counting, and the third is that the game now promotes just playing Trials of Osiris, regardless of winning or losing. Overall, what Bungie did was great, and players can now go back to a game mode that’s more welcoming even to those who don’t usually like to play PVP.

Destiny 2 is now available on PC, PS4, PS5, Stadia, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *